Rockefeller Center Christmas tree lighting preview - My9 New Jersey

Rockefeller Center Christmas tree lighting preview

Posted: Updated:
For the 10th year, the Swarovski Star is raised to the top of the 76-foot Rockefeller Center Christmas tree, Thursday, Nov. 14, 2013, in New York. (Diane Bondareff/Invision for Swarovski/AP Images) For the 10th year, the Swarovski Star is raised to the top of the 76-foot Rockefeller Center Christmas tree, Thursday, Nov. 14, 2013, in New York. (Diane Bondareff/Invision for Swarovski/AP Images)
NEW YORK (MYFOXNY) - The lighting of the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree is Wednesday night. If you want to watch the action, you need to have a strategy.

The 70-foot Norway spruce from Connecticut will have 45,000 LED lights. The ceremony begins at 7 p.m. and the lighting takes place at 8:55 p.m.

If you're coming from out of town, park in the 96th Street range. There is a $11/hour garage at 94th St. called Carnegie Garage, " said Cristina Cuomo, Editor-In-Chief of Manhattan magazine.

Take the B or D train to Rockefeller Center or take the 6 to 54th and Lexington and walk over.

Police will close off 5th Ave. between 48th St and 52nd St. during the event.

Several local restaurants are offering prixe fix menus including Bill's Bar & Burger, La Bonne Soup or the Bistro and Bar.

The concourse below 30 Rockefeller Center will have stores open late but many stores outside Rockefeller Center close early on the night of the tree lighting.

"On Saks 5th Ave. on the second floor the boutique has the most spectacular view," added Cuomo.

Manhattan magazine is a monthly publication.

Follow the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree on Twitter @RockCenterNYC



  • Today on Good DayToday on Good DayMore>>

  • 'The Singles Project' puts real-time in reality TV

    'The Singles Project' puts real-time in reality TV

    Tuesday, August 26 2014 1:42 PM EDT2014-08-26 17:42:20 GMT
    A new reality show is bringing a sense of urgency to your television screen. The show 'The Singles Project' is shot Wednesday- Saturday and airs Tuesdays at 10 p.m. on Bravo. “That's what makes the show different. We're filming in real-time. We're really on a roller coaster and it's off the rails. The social media part is just another layer,” said Joey Healy, eyebrow stylist to the stars. Healy, Lee Gause, Tabazum Mir and Kerry Cassidy are among the cast members.
    A new reality show is bringing a sense of urgency to your television screen. The show 'The Singles Project' is shot Wednesday- Saturday and airs Tuesdays at 10 p.m. on Bravo. “That's what makes the show different. We're filming in real-time. We're really on a roller coaster and it's off the rails. The social media part is just another layer,” said Joey Healy, eyebrow stylist to the stars. Healy, Lee Gause, Tabazum Mir and Kerry Cassidy are among the cast members.
  • Brody plays inspiration 'Houdini' in mini-series

    Brody plays inspiration 'Houdini' in mini-series

    Tuesday, August 26 2014 12:51 PM EDT2014-08-26 16:51:28 GMT
    Queens native and Oscar winner Adrien Brody is playing the role of the man who inspired his acting career, Harry Houdini.  "He was not only a heroic figure because I had a fascination with magic but magic lead into an understanding of acting and performance.  I found the creative process of researching characters and immersion into the roles I portray to be magical and a more meaningful experience. It lead me to become an actor and here I am asked to portray that man."
    Queens native and Oscar winner Adrien Brody is playing the role of the man who inspired his acting career, Harry Houdini.  "He was not only a heroic figure because I had a fascination with magic but magic lead into an understanding of acting and performance.  I found the creative process of researching characters and immersion into the roles I portray to be magical and a more meaningful experience. It lead me to become an actor and here I am asked to portray that man."
  • Emmy Awards: 'Breaking Bad,' 'Modern Family' win

    Emmy Awards: 'Breaking Bad,' 'Modern Family' win

    Monday, August 25 2014 11:28 PM EDT2014-08-26 03:28:55 GMT
    "Modern Family" won a record-tying fifth best comedy series Emmy Award and a dominant "Breaking Bad" captured the top drama award and a trio of acting honors in Monday's ceremony, which took a somber turn as Robin Williams was remembered with restraint and grace by his longtime friend, Billy Crystal. "He made us laugh. Hard. Every time you saw him," Crystal said of Williams.
    "Modern Family" won a record-tying fifth best comedy series Emmy Award and a dominant "Breaking Bad" captured the top drama award and a trio of acting honors in Monday's ceremony, which took a somber turn as Robin Williams was remembered with restraint and grace by his longtime friend, Billy Crystal. "He made us laugh. Hard. Every time you saw him," Crystal said of Williams.
Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices